Council of Organizations Begins Another Year

The first Council of Organizations meeting was held on Monday, Sept. 12 and addressed topics of E-board introduction and committee elections.

Council of Organizations Chair Shayna Bentley introduced herself and this year’s E-board members, Student Association (SA) President Terrell Coakley, SA Vice President Eve Stern, Vice President of Programming Laneesha Bacchus, Senate Chair Alberto Aquino, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Governance Ayanna Thomas and Vice President of Finance Youssouf Kuoyo.

There were five seats elected for Budget and Finance Committee (BFC). After a lengthy question and answer session, a vote took place naming the new BFC members: Jesse Solotoff, the gaming society; Matthew Solano; Lissette Espinal, Latino Week Fashion Show and Caribbean Student Organization (CSO); Kristine Rose, Jam Asia; and Francis Palasieski of The New Paltz Golf Club.

There were also 10 people elected to the programming board including Amanda Buscemi,  French Club; Malcom Hobson, Black Student Union (BSU) and Gage Hall Government; Teniola Faloye, Black Week; Lauren Crawford, Latino Week; Jackie Northhacker, Out of the Darkness; Dominique Jordan, Warriors Dance Crew; Anairis Gomez, Warriors Dance Crew; Malaika Queano, Jam Asia and Cullinary Club; Babalola Ajisafe, Handball and Racquetball Club; and Tom Cassa, New Paltz Lacrosse.

The next meeting will be held on Sept. 26 at 7:30 p.m. in SU 62/63. Elections are planned for the Constitution and Rules Committee (CRC).