108 Years in the Making

Congratulations to the 2016 World Champion Chicago Cubs

Chicago Cubs

– First World Series appearance since 1945, losing to the Detroit Tigers in seven games.

– Last won the World Series in 1908, also winning it in 1907.

– Eleventh pennant in franchise history.

– First team to come back from 3-1 deficit in World Series since 1985 Kansas City Royals.

– General Manager Theo Epstein held the same position with the Boston Red Sox when they broke their 86-year championship drought in 2004. 

Cleveland Indians

– First World Series appearance since 1997. Ironically, that was the last World Series to see Game 7 go to extra innings. The Indians lost to the Marlins in Game 7 by a score of 3-2 in the 11th inning.

– Last won the World Series in 1948, also previously winning it in 1920.

– Sixth pennant in franchise history. 

– Now own the second-longest championship drought in all four major North American sports. The Arizona Cardinals last won in 1947.

If the Cubs can win the World Series, so can the New York Mets!