Democrats Dominate Early Ulster Elections

The unofficial Ulster County Election results are in and Democrats are maintaining the majority in New Paltz. As of publication, absentee ballot results are still being counted, so results are subject to change. 

Republican Michael Kavanaugh beat Democrat Dave Clegg by a mere three votes for the position of District Attorney (DA). He will be replacing DA Holley Carnright, after he steps down from his 12 years in office in January. Kavanaugh received 24,969 votes while Clegg received 24,966. 

Kavanaugh is 48 years old and serves as the Chief Assistant District Attorney. Clegg is a 66-year-old trial attorney who centered his campaign on reform; focusing on restorative justice and diversion programs instead of incarceration for nonviolent offenders.

Incumbent Democrat Julie Seyfert-Lillis was reelected as councilwoman in New Paltz, while Alexandria Baer took the second seat. Seyfert-Lillis is the executive director of Millbrook Preserve, Inc., and her campaign revolved around issues of mental health, alternative modes of transportation and climate change.

James Bacon, the incumbent Democrat, became Town Justice in a landslide victory against Kevin F. Kelly. Bacon has 27 years of experience as an attorney and has served as Town Justice since 2007. Rosanna Rosenkranse ran unopposed for Town Clerk/ Tax Collector, winning with 2740 votes. 

James H. Delaune will keep his position as County Legislator for the 17th district, which covers the towns of Esopus and New Paltz. Eve Walters ran against Donna Smith for County Legislator of the 20th district, and won by a landslide, garnering 1303 votes to Smith’s 195. She will replace Hector Rodriguez. 

Walters was appointed to serve on the Village Planning Board in November 2017 and became the Planning Board Chair in May 2018. She plans to focus her efforts as County Legislator on care for the environment, improving the local economy and fixing the local health care system. 

Democrat Patrick K. Ryan remains as the County Executive, beating Jack Hayes with a landslide victory: 30,674 votes for Ryan to 18,062 for Hayes. This is the first time either candidate is running for a full-term. Ryan will fill Mike Hein’s position, which he left in April to work in Gov. Cuomo’s administration.

Ryan is a 37-year-old former Army officer and tech executive who formed his own small tech company. His plans as County Executive include implementing a Green New Deal in Ulster County, fighting to reform the criminal justice system, promoting economic development and challenge Trump’s dangerous administrative policies.

March Gallagher won the election for County Comptroller, beating Lisa Cutten by 5,932 votes. 

Gallagher was the CEO of the nonprofit Community Foundations of the Hudson Valley. Gallagher is an attorney with a background in public policy who attended Boston University School of Law, Bard College and the University of Albany. 

Interim Comptroller Adele Reiter did not run for the position, so Gallagher will be replacing Comptroller Auerbach, who stepped down in May.

Democrat Bryan E. Rounds ran unopposed for County Court Judge, winning the election to this 10-year term with 36,118 votes. He is a Kingston-based defense attorney. He succeeds Republican former District Attorney Donald Williams, who did not seek a second term this election cycle.

Incumbent candidate John C. Egan Jr. was reelected to the New York State Supreme Court, being joined by Michael C. Lynch and Justin Corcoran. All three candidates ran on the Democratic ticket, sweeping the election from Republican Linda Blom Johnson. 

Madalyn Alfonso
About Madalyn Alfonso 85 Articles
Madalyn Alfonso is a fourth-year English major with a minor in Theatre. This is her sixth semester on The Oracle. Previously, she was the Arts & Entertainment Editor. She loves writing any and every thing she can for the Oracle, whether it be a hilarious Top Ten or a thought-provoking Culture Critique. She hopes you all love reading the Oracle!